The Holy Monastery of Agia Triada

Monasteries of Samos : A holy tour...

The Monastery of Agias Triadas (Holy Trinity) or New Zoodochos Pigi is located in the Katrafili area, in the vicinity of Mitilinioi town.

It was founded, in the place of the old Church of Agias Triadas, in 1824 by monk Neophytos, who was a monk in the Monastery of Zoodochos Pigi, so it was named New Zoodochos Pigi Monastery.

It is the newest Monastery of Samos. The construction of the cells began in 1824, while the present Monastery was rebuild in 1905 and is obliquely arranged within the inner courtyard, in relation to the rest of the quadrilateral, almost rectangular, building complex. The architecture of the Monastery follows the Athonite type of a three-cone four columned church. The four columns, supporting the dome, were transported, according to the local tradition, by an ancient building, located in ancient Glyfada city (nowadays Pythagorion).

The icon screen and the two icon stands were made of marble in 1920, while the silvered icon of Zoodochos Pigi, made in 1884, is regarded as a significant artwork. Some of the frescoes “testify” that, in the past, the Monastery was not covered with frescoes at all. The marble bell-tower was built in 1884 and renovated in 1908. The Monastery has a library with many books.

It is celebrated on the Holy Spirit Day (Monday).

Monasteries of samos

View all #monasteries sites worth visiting in Samos

1.Home

2.About

3.Things to Do

4.Contact

SAMOS EXPLORE

The new way of tourism in Greece